Bigot

Bigot:

  • a person who strongly and unfairly dislikes other people, ideas, etc. : a bigoted person; especially : a person who hates or refuses to accept the members of a particular group (such as a racial or religious group)

Source: Merriam-Webster’s Learner’s Dictionary
~~~~~~
Well well. I have a bigot in the family. I was raised with open minded parents. I went to an inner city school for a while when I was a wee child. I grew up in mostly white middle class neighborhoods and spent my summers on rural farms.
However I was taught, not by any church or any religious group, but by my own parents and grandparents that people were people. That was pretty free thinking for those folks.
At supper on Sunday night a step-son in law said pointedly that “I wish I was born a different color because that way I wouldn’t have to work and I wouldn’t have to do anything but live off from other people.
Well raise my hackles and purse my lips. I went to clear my plate and said, “That is mighty white of you.”
His 10 year old son …my grand son, revealed to me the day before in casual conversation that: Dad hates colored people and Democrats.
Out of the mouth of babes.
My mom in law responded quickly by asking if he’d rather be black.
“Well, no.”
He then went on to talk about his church and how the pastor this and the pastor … that..and I pretty much ignored him until he said that the pastor thought they should vote for…
Well. I won’t even go there on this blog.
I’m going to steal a line from someone. I should have piped up and said, “Wow you dislike colored folk? My great grandparents were colored and they were LIBERAL Democrats!”
I, however missed an opportunity.
I don’t like bigots. I dislike bigots. I may even really really dislike what he has to say. But Hate? No, no hate here. Just sorrow that a person can be like that and claim he is a righteous church going elder.
Hate consumes a person’s mind and soul. I think I’ll just say I still don’t like Bigots very much and have no use for them.
Perhaps I’ll make a sign for when he visits next.
BIGOT PARKING HERE. [on top of a manure pile]
One thought on “Bigot

Leave a Reply

